Animal Logic


Screenplay Semi-Finalists

4 November 2019

Earlier this year Truant Pictures announced an Australian based screenplay competition committed to uncovering the next great horror, science fiction and thriller screenwriters. The competition offered a pool of prizes and initiatives to help support the careers of emerging writers and after 8 weeks of reading hundreds of entries the judges have made their selection!

We are thrilled to reveal the 15 semi-finalists and 5 honourable mentions:


  • Vince Bailey, The Dobson Field Initiative – Thriller (Tasmania)
  • Nick Barkla & Jason Patterson, Slay the Dragon – Thriller (Victoria)
  • Renee Brack, Outback Killer Koalas – Comic Horror (NSW)
  • Craig Delahoy, Congress – Horror/Thriller (NSW)
  • Jonathon Green & Anthony O’Connor, Emma After – Thriller (NSW)
  • Scott Hamilton & P.J. Hamilton, Red Rock – Sci-Fi (QLD)
  • Nicolas Hinze, Moratjjan – Horror (QLD)
  • Adriana Kenny, Clarity – Thriller/Horror (NSW)
  • Adam Lemmey, Splatters – Horror (SA)
  • Sean Loch, Rear View Mirror – Thriller/Horror (QLD)
  • Aaron McCann & Dominic Pearce, Big Red – Sci-Fi (WA)
  • DJ McPherson, His Name is Jeremiah – Thriller (Victoria)
  • Mark Oxbrow, She Awakens – Horror (NSW)
  • Jordan Prosser, Cherry – Thriller/Horror (NSW)
  • David Willing & Beth King, The Surrogate – Thriller (Victoria)


  • Marianne de Pierres, Stalking Daylight – Sci-Fi (QLD)
  • Kerinne Jenkins, Cattle – Thriller (NSW)
  • Declan Shrubb, Imaginary Friend – Horror (ACT)
  • Megan Williams, Two Hours From – Thriller (QLD)
  • Les Zig, The Principle of the Thing – Thriller (VIC)

Three finalists will be selected from the group of semi-finalists and announced on 18 November 2019, followed by the Grand Prize Winner on 25 November.

You can read more about the competition here.